About us

Our Staff

Sue Simpson

Parish Office Administrator

Sue welcomes your enquiries at the Church Office in the Parish Centre, Green Road, from 9.00am-12noon each Monday, Wednesday & Friday.

Melissa Chakanetsa

Parish Office Administrator

Melissa welcomes your enquiries at the Church Office in the Parish Centre, Green Road, from 9.00am-1.00pm each Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday.

Revd Andy Norris


Revd Andy & Libby Norris might be seen sailing around the parish boundary as well as on his bicycle about the parish!  A vicar since 1987 Andy has been our Rector since 2013.  Andy & Libby hope you’ll introduce yourself to them if you visit us in Alverstoke. 

Please contact Andy through the Parish Office.

Revd Stev Dent

Revd Steve Dent

Honorary Chaplain (GWMH) and Associate Minister

When Steve is not serving the Chaplaincy at Gosport War Memorial Hospital he is working in the parish as our Associate Minister.   You may see Steve & Jayne at St.Mary’s or in leading worship across the parish, and in parish pastoral ministry.

You can contact Steve through the Parish Office.

Revd Erica Wilkie

Leesland Pioneer Curate

Erica is the Leesland Pioneering Curate.  The pioneering ministry is across Alverstoke and Forton parishes with a focus on Leesland Neighbourhood Church currently based at St.Faith’s, Tribe Road.  We’ll see Erica from time to time at St.Mary’s where Peter, her husband, worships.

Darren Clarke

Licensed Minister (Reader)

Darren Clarke, Licensed Reader and Warden of Readers for Gosport Deanery.

Paddy Trasler

Licensed Minister (Reader)

Paddy serves across the parish and has a special focus on the monthly service at St.Luke’s, Haslar.

Sue Smith

Licensed Minister (Reader)

Sue serves across the parish and has a special focus at St.Faith’s.

Revd Hazel O’Sullivan


Hazel has been our Seniors Minister, but has recently retired from that role.  Hazel remains an active church member helping with some ministries, including Facebook!

Paul Pilott LRAM ARCO

Director of Music

Director of Music, Organist and Choirmaster

Paul oversees the rich and diverse provision of music for worship at St.Mary’s which includes the Choir, Junior Choir, Orchestra, Worship Band and our new Community Worship Choir (Spring 2021).

Kay Howard

Parish Churchwarden
(Parish Officer)


Graham Collins

Parish Churchwarden
(Parish Officer)


Tim Finch

Treasurer (Parish Officer) 

Michael Thomas

Secretary (Parish Officer) 

Peter Camp

St Mary’s Church Administrator and Verger (Parish Officer)

Ron Doherty

St Faith Deputy Warden
(Parish Officer)

Eric Skinner

St Francis Deputy Warden
(Parish Officer)

Kathryn Clarke

Welcome Teams, Baptism Admins and Social Media


Bill Lock

AV Team Leader


Diane Dow

Retired Reader

Retired Clergy

The Parish is grateful of the support and ministry of retired Clergy with the Bishop’s Permission to Officiate:


The Revds Reg Forse, Humphrey Prideaux and Hazel O’Sullivan.

Also with appreciation for the occasional help of Revds Phil Hiscock and Ian Rutherford.